The Supreme Court Rejects Texas’s Shameful Lawsuit

The Supreme Court Rejects Texas’s Shameful Lawsuit

On Friday, the Supreme Court rejected a lawsuit backed by Trump to disenfranchise millions of voters in four states—Georgia, Michigan, Pennsylvania, and Wisconsin. This was the second court order rejecting Trump’s and the Republicans’ requests to change the 2020 election outcome by throwing out millions of voter’s ballots.

In yet another desperate attempt to ignore the will of the people, 106 members of Congress and multiple state attorneys general signed onto the lawsuit — including six GOP North Carolina congressmen. The six NC Republican congressmen include Dan Bishop, Ted Budd, Virginia Foxx, Richard Hudson, Greg Murphy and David Rouzer.

From The New Yorker:

There is no forum or venue, under our Constitution, to do what Texas and Trump wanted, because what they wanted was utterly unconstitutional. As Pennsylvania’s reply, submitted by attorneys for the state, including Attorney General Josh Shapiro, put it, “Texas invites this Court to overthrow the votes of the American people and choose the next President of the United States,” in what would be a “seditious abuse of the judicial process.” It is a relief that the Justices refused to even entertain that invitation. 

And, as each of the four sued states noted, Trump and his allies have brought dozens of suits in courts across the country, many of which judges have heard, and some of which have reached the Supreme Court. He just keeps losing them. The Supreme Court was the “only” place the President and his allies could go—because they’d already gone everywhere else. Most important, Trump went to the voters on Election Day. And they chose Joe Biden.

The last minute power grab before the Electoral College confirms Joe Biden as president-elect, is the latest demonstration of Trump and his Republican allies to undermine voters for their own political gain. 

Starting even before Election Day, Trump and his Republican allies have filed nearly five dozen challenges to the handling, casting and counting of votes in courts in at least eight different states — with judges dismissing Trump’s legal arguments across the country.

Bottom Line: Despite all the noise and efforts to suppress voters, the truth is self-evident: Joe Biden will be sworn in as president on Jan. 20. 

Posted in

Alanna Joyner

Stay Informed